Let’s Discuss — White Butterfly by Walter Mosley

I kept my silence and Hobbes took his friendly hand back. I was in a hurry to get to my house. I felt bad about turning down the policeman. I felt miserable that young women would die. But there was nothing I could do. I had my own life to attend to–didn’t I? (20)

So what’s new with Easy? Well, he’s living with his adopted son, Jesus, a new wife and baby. They’re one, big, happy family–except not really, or not for long anyways. Easy’s called on once again to help the police find a serial killer of exotic dancers/strippers/women of that variety. But the time Easy spends away from home, enveloped in secrets of the L.A underworld, eventually takes a toll on his family life.

This story is as much about personal transgression as it is criminal wrongdoing. What do I mean by personal transgression? …well it seems Easy married his wife, simply so he can say he has a wife at home. And then there’s his daughter who is named Edna–daringly close to his ex-lover/best friend’s ex-wife’s name, Etta. Now, I’m sure he loves his wife and daughter, but I’m also sure he’s more in love with the idea of having a wife and child at home, in the house he bought all those years ago. It’s an attempt to grasp some normalcy and it ties back in with his struggle over possession in A Red Death.

In the end, we see where creeping around at questionable hours, in questionable places gets him and the family he always wanted. Easy once built up, is stripped down.

Leave a Reply

